Lake View House on Orange Lake, formerly O’Malleys, first opened its doors in 1899 when a grand amusement park was located nearby and the trolley made hourly trips from Newburgh to Walden. The restaurant hold the distinction of being granted the first liquor license issued n Orange County and the original #1 copy still hangs over the bar. In the early days the trolley made connections with the ferry and other boats as well as the railroad stations in the surrounding countryside. Local people arrived by horse and carriage and later motor car. In the advertisements for Orange Lake was noted as the playground of eastern New York 800 feet above sea level. Guests were promised a day in the country culminating with a beautiful sunset over Orange Lake. After World War II the trolley and the amusement park were gone but O’Malleys’ hospitality continued. Mickey Spillane enjoyed spending time here during the months he lived in a tent and constructed his own home.
At Lake View House we pledge to continued the same kind of service that made this restaurant noteworthy in the past and makes it a memorable dining experience in the present.